From The Coalition of CT Sportsmen – Public Hearing Information

This post is from an email from Richard Millo at Valley Firearms – I’m posting it in it’s entirety to help get out the information to as many Connecticut firearm owners as possible – I’m also correcting the oversight and adding both Valley Firearms and the Connecticut Coalition of Sportsmen to our resources page.


Great idea, just post it as is, maybe put a link to the Coalition.You may want to encourage folks to visit/join the CT Coalition of Sportsmen, if it were not for Bob Crook, we would have no gun rights left in CT, the page is here…http://www.ctsportsmen.com/

thanks,Hopefully this bill won’t get any further.Rick

(continued)


From Bob Crook of the CT Coaltition of Sportsmen.  Please contact the list of legislators below and voice your opinion of these very restrictive bills.  Everyone always asks…”what can I do to help”…well here is your chance, voice your opinion or allow your rights to be further trampled by a government that is out of control.

Update:
1. Note we are now in SUPPORT of  two bills and OPPOSE two bills. Not doing this earlier was an oversight on our part. We have included some explanation of our positions.
2. Many questions have been asked about “Who sponsored the bill?” This bill was raised by Judiciary Committee at the request of a lobbyist who has represented National and state anti-gun groups in the past. This procedure is no different from the CCS lobbyist requesting Committee leadership to address our proposals. Committee leadership had to agree to Raising the bill. Connecticut Against Gun Violence http://www.cagv.org Banning Large Capacity Ammunition Magazines in CT: Some time has passed now since the shootings of Congressman Gabrielle Giffords and nine others in Arizona, with six killed, including a nine year old girl, Christina Taylor Green. The media have moved on; public attention has waned. But at CT Against Gun Violence, the critical need to address gun violence in Connecticut and across the nation cannot stop. Our current legislative proposal, SB 1094, An Act Banning Large-capacity Ammunition Magazines (LCAM’s) like the one used in the Tucson shooting is in full stride This legislation can directly save lives.
3. Attached is a list of possible talking points for High Cap Mags.

Public Hearing JUDICIARY Committee  WEDNESDAY, March 23, 2011
The Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, March 23, 2011 at 10:00 A.M. in Room 2C of the LOB.  Please submit 40 copiesof written testimony to Committee staff, preferably any day prior to the hearing, but no later than two hours prior to the start of the hearing in Room 2500 of the LOB.  Testimony should clearly state testifier name and related bill number(s).  Testimony submitted after the designated time may not be distributed until after the hearing.  Sign-up for the hearing will begin at 8:00 A.M. and conclude at 9:30 A.M. in Room 2500 of the LOB.  Speaker order will be decided by a lottery system. Anyone wishing to testify after the drawing is closed must sign up in the hearing room and be placed at the end of the list.  The first hour of the hearing is reserved for Legislators, Chief Municipal Officials, Constitutional Officers and State Agency Heads.  Speakers will be limited to three minutes of testimony.


SUBJECT MATTER:   Firearms Related Bills and Criminal Procedure
* S.B. No. 1094 (RAISED) AN ACT BANNING LARGE CAPACITY AMMUNITION MAGAZINES. OPPOSE.


* S.B. No. 1096 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE CRIMINAL POSSESSION AND SEIZURE OF FIREARM AMMUNITION.  OPPOSE. Confiscating ammunition when firearms are removed makes no sense – ammunition is not a danger to society when there is no firearm to shoot it. Would prohibit reloaders or sellers of ammunition from conducting business or hobby based restraining or protective order which is a court administrative action, NOT a crime. Are we now going to incarcerate for mere possession of a single bullet? A class D felony imposed is extreme to say the least.


* S.B. No. 1210 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF DEADLY PHYSICAL FORCE TO DEFEND THE RESIDENTS OF A HOME. SUPPORT.


* H.B. No. 6490 (RAISED) AN ACT ESTABLISHING A PROCEDURE FOR RELIEF FROM CERTAIN FEDERAL FIREARMS PROHIBITIONS. SUPPORT. This bill would establish a procedure so that people who are disqualified under federal law can get their RTKBA back in Connecticut. Attorney Ralph Sherman has a client right now who was incapacitated several years ago by a serious accident. He was unconscious for some period of time. Because of his mental state, a conservator was involuntarily appointed for him. The client has recovered fully, but under federal law he is [forever] disqualified from having firearms because he was once deemed by a court to be “mentally defective.” Bill 6490 would establish a way to undo this disqualification. Addressed in 2010 but died on Judiciary Comm JF Deadline. Proposed Amendment onto Bound Book bill which died on House calendar last day of 2010 session. Allows persons to petition the probate court for the district in which such person resides for relief from a federal firearms disability, under 18 USC 922(d)(4) and 18 USC 922(g)(4), as a result of an adjudication or commitment rendered in this state. Conforms state statute to federal law, which would help to ensure that the state qualifies for federal funding of up to $3 million.
**********
The State Capitol Police request the cooperation of all individuals regarding security in the Capitol and LOB. Firearms/Dangerous Weapons are by law NOT allowed in the Capitol/LOB/ or other locations where State Legislative Hearings/Activity is held.

Directions to the Capitol/Legislative Office Building/State Armory:
I-84E to Capitol Ave Exit; Go to end of ramp (LOB is on the Right); take a right at the light; to next light then go right between the LOB on right and the State Armory on left; parking (if available) is first right into the LOB.
I-91S to Capitol Ave (after passing under I-84, first right 29A); follow to circle, halfway around go right onto Elm Street; at end of street the Capitol is front of you (Limited parking in that area on right if you continue straight through light); otherwise go left at light; continue straight (Capitol on right) through two lights; go right at third between the LOB and State Armory.
I-91 N to Capitol Ave exit (29A); Go straight until circle, then follow I-91 S instructions above.
Parking IS limited – If the sign for the LOB lot says Closed, you may try it anyway if there are no police at the sign. If police or no parking, return to light and go STRAIGHT across Capitol Ave. Parking on street may be available (Read signs); if none there, go to next intersection and look at 45 degree angle to right – there’s usually a few there on opposite side of road. If not keep straight. At the next intersection go left then left again, usually some openings. Across from the LOB on Capitol Ave parking is available if not filled (Cost?) last time I parked there it was free. Other than that, Pay parking.

CAPITOL POLICE–PARKING REGULATIONS
Limited parking facilities make it impossible to guarantee parking for members of the public attending meetings and functions at the Capitol and LOB. Parking for the public is on a space-available basis only. Cars parked in inappropriate areas or marked will be ticketed [Parking Tickets are $60], and vehicles that present a hazard to public safety will be towed. [Suggest Car pooling if possible]. There is no parking allowed in the cut out area in front of the LOB. This is a fire lane for emergency vehicles and is also used as a discharge area for students visiting the Capitol.
The south and west areas of the Capitol are for reserved parking and for vehicles with a Capitol grounds sticker. A section of the north driveway is reserved for public parking only. Signs clearly identify where the public parking ends and the permit parking begins. Parking regulations will be enforced.

Capitol Police direct visitors to the first floor of the Legislative Office Garage. When this area fills, visitors are directed to available rooftop parking. When the roof is at capacity, officers direct visitors to a specified area in the garage basement. Once all public parking is at capacity, additional visitors are provided with a map to the Forest Street lot and a list of shuttle times from there to the Capitol complex and back. Forest Street shuttle buses for visitors begin running to the LOB at 9:00 A.M. The Forest Street lot closes at 6:00 P.M. The shuttle pick-up and drop off location is at 340 Capitol Avenue from 9:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M.

Directions to the Forest Street Lot from the Parking Garage
Coming from the garage entrances, go straight to the light after the stop sign. Turn right onto Capitol Avenue. Go 9 traffic lights and turn right onto Forest Street (Note: First right after crossing under the railroad bridge is Forest Street. )The Parking lot is the first driveway on the left. Lot C, State of Connecticut, DPW is marked with a blue sign. Call the Capitol Police at 860 240-0240 for further information.

Use our website http://www.ctsportsmen.com/ under “Legislation” to “Find your Legislator” by town. Then go to the Legislative website http://www.cga.ct.gov/for data on your legislators. Contact both YOUR CT House Representative and Senator and relay your OPPOSITION/SUPPORT/Concerns. Most committee e-mail websites with ALL Committee members listed have been updated to 2011 on the CCS website under “Legislation” and you can use those to send your comments to a whole Committee (Use the BCC –Blind Carbon Copy – element in your message address block.)


Judiciary Committee Members 2011-12
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov; Beth.Bye@senatedems.ct.gov; Doyle@senatedems.ct.gov; Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov; Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov,John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov; Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov; David.Baram@cga.ct.gov;Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov; Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov; Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov;Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov; Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov; Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov; Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov; Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov; Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov;Kelvin.Roldan@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov; William.Tong@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov; Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov;Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov; John.Hetherington@housegop.ct.gov; al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov; christie.carpino@housegop.ct.gov; DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov;Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov; David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov; Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov; rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov;bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov; TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov;

 

Share and Enjoy:
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Reddit
  • email
  • RSS

Related posts:

One Response to “From The Coalition of CT Sportsmen – Public Hearing Information”

  1. Mopar says:

    Bob has done a great job, but he’s just one guy. That one guy (Bob Crook) was the only person in Hartford Weds speaking on behalf of the Coaltition of Sportsmen. The NRA had one guy. They are both paid to be there.
    The Connecticut Citizens Defense League (CCDL) had a tons of members turn out against this bill. Nobody was paid, they did it on their own dimes, to protect something they believe in.
    If you want to be active in protecting your gun rights in CT now (not knocking what Bob has done in the past) then the CCDL is where you need to be. Membership is free (unlike those other orgs) and they run 100% on donations.